Skip to main content

Kinne Legacy Award

Presented in recognition of extraordinary service to the organization

Nominations for the 2025 award are closed.
The Kinne Legacy Award, formerly the Russ & Jane Kinne Recognition Grant, is presented to a member of NANPA who has freely and selflessly shared his/her professional expertise for the education and/or betterment of NANPA members. The nominee’s efforts should have made a significant impact upon the nature photography community by mentoring or helping others become successful in some aspect related to NANPA’s Mission Statement. This can include the advocacy and education in terms of the creative and/or business aspects of nature photography.



Both the nominee and the person making the nomination must be NANPA members.


Selection Criteria Definitions

Service that benefits NANPA Members

The nominee has without compensation and in a selfless manner:

  • Mentored NANPA members in the creative and/or business aspects of nature photography;
  • Fostered the improvement of professional education for nature photographers;
  • Promoted, within the nature photography industry, the career path of emerging nature photographers; and/or
  • Advocated on behalf of nature photography.

It’s important to demonstrate that the nominee’s efforts have had a beneficial impact upon numerous NANPA members over an extended period of time.

Note: While laudable, the following are not qualifiers for this award:

  • Support of other nature photography and/or nature conservation organizations; or
  • Mentoring of nature photographers who are not NANPA members.

NANPA Values

The nominee proactively and consistently demonstrates his/her support of and adherence to the tenants of NANPA’s Mission Statement.

The 2021 Kinne Legacy Award was presented to Alice Robertson at the 2021 Virtual Summit.

Past recipients

2021: Alice Robertson
2007-2019: Award inactive
2006: Ray Fortner
2005: Barbara Jividen
2004: Jennifer Weinberg
2003: Niki Barrie
2002: Kevin Fitz Patrick
2001: Deborah Free
2000: Darrell Gulin